Do Be Do Be Do

Hello! How have you been?

I’ve been well — busy at work getting everything ready for our new and returning students, busy at home with my usual makin’ stuff and taking weaving classes. I’ve made my first woven scarf! I love, love, love weaving.

image

 

What else?

I cut my hair into a chin length bob.

image

I finally have obtained the concentration to start knitting lace again. Phew.

I’m taking a graduate book history class that promises to teach me so much and has me running around to our area’s finest collections.

I’m also feeling both quietly introspective and also very immersed in making and doing. As Frank Sinatra sings, “Do be do be do.” πŸ˜€ (Strangers in the Night, of course!)

So please excuse me as I do and be. Come visit on Twitter if you’d like to say hi! 140 characters at a time feels just about right, right now.

4 comments

  1. I know what you mean!!!

    I love the hair cut and love sharing your ‘doing’, whether here or on Twitter. By the way, I’m intrigued to hear about the yarn you use in your weaving and to what extent it has a different quality or treatment to that which you might use for knitting.

    I’ve recently been embroidering a bit with random ‘string’ and bases. Isn’t yarn in its many varieties endlessly fascinating, in the same way that soil and paper are endlessly intriguing. All materials we take for granted but are the basis of so much of our lives!

    1. So far I’ve been using skeins of knitting yarn to weave! Since my project was not very large, it took less than a skein for the warp and less than a skein for the weft. Once I get my bearings I’ll branch out — it’s pretty much the same yarn as we use for knitting if wool is used, but it comes on cones which gives you more continuous yarn to set up your warp.

      The heddles are like our knitting needles – they come with different sized holes spaced differently to work with the different weights of yarns. The heddle I used was like a size 8 US needle and my yarn was worsted weight.

      What I want to learn next is weaving tea towels! You can get cotton and linen on cones and have a field day!

      I’m sure I’m oversimplifying it since I’ve made exactly one scarf and have just started reading and studying πŸ˜‰

      1. It never occurred to me that you would have tension on a loom but it is obvious really… Know I know, I will keep my eyes open for interesting yarns for your loom! Making your own tea towels… That sounds remarkably satisfying and you will never look at another tea towel in the same light!

Leave a Reply

