The Farm

Last week, I had the immense pleasure of seeing a book I made in a show at the Central Branch of the Free Library of Philadelphia.image

My Guild did a project where we each took the letterpress printed poem The Farm by Wendell Berry, and did our own interpretive binding.

image

The poem is amazing and so moving. Once I was able to start working without bursting into tears from the poem, I had a great deal of fun and learned so much with this project. It felt like serendipity — I was racking my brain about what kind of binding  would evoke this wonderful poem about place, nature, integrity,  work, and a way to live a life, and a friend (thank you Kathryn!) sent me a copy of Non-Adhesive Binding by Keith Smith. When it arrived, I opened a page at random, and there was Hedi Kyle’s piano hinge binding done with twigs instead of dowels. My heart skipped a beat, I thought of my collections of dried flowers and branches, and knew exactly what to do.

image

 

I’ve also been wanting to try my hand at linocutting and printing, and I thought the cover of the book would give me the nudge to finally give it a whirl. I’m SO glad because I’m in love with the process and want to make a million more!

I didn’t go to the opening — I already had plans to go to NYC that weekend, and I only have so much energy for out and about. Although I would have enjoyed being in the company of the other artists, I appreciated quietly seeing the show in a place that I’ve loved my whole life. Me! In an art show! In one of my magical places! It was such a good feeling.

imageimageimageimage

Here’s to many more learning experiences, nudges to try something you’ve always wanted to, and magical places. Clink!

 

8 comments

  1. Oh, this is great! I went and read the poem, which was totally new to me and I loved, and then read the rest of your post. Your interpretation is creative and perfect on so many levels!

    1. Thanks, Kerry! It’s a wonderful poem, and now I am down a Wendell Berry hole reading all I can get my hands on. Novels, essay collections, and yes his poems. So good, and so necessary to hear.

    1. Thank you, Natalie!

      I wanted to tell you that I’ve been knitting with the Noro yarn all summer. I’ve been so distracted and fidgety, and those colors, and watching the color changes have been the only things to keep me focused. I’m mesmerized by them! I’m making a scarf right now, with plans for a shawl and hat next. Thanks once again for the beautiful yarn.

  2. YOW! That resolved so beautifully. A really perfect marriage… you and the poem, the poem and the binding. Them’s some good guts, book and lady both.

Leave a Reply

