Another Sort of Emendation

My Favorite Sweater That I Live In was getting … droopy around the neckline. The neck is a knitted yoke, and the pattern did not have any instructions on picking up and knitting a neckline or using a provisional cast on and knitting a neckline, etc. Sometimes it would droop so much that I was feeling like a reject from Flashdance!

Flashdanceposter

(Image from Wikimedia Commons)

I knew I had to do something. I was going to weave a ribbon through the neck, but that would mean I’d have to tie it every time I put in on, which seemed too fussy for something I take off and put on so much. I was playing around with picking up and knitting a neck, but then I remembered how supportive crochet can be to a knitted garment. I got out a crochet hook a little smaller than I thought it should be and a beautifully simple three rows of slip stitch around the neck provided the solution I was looking for:

IMG_3196

See how happy I am with this little footnote to my sweater?!

I am so glad my sweater no longer makes me feel I must sing “What a feeling!” as I walk down the street. The crochet is exactly the firmness this neckline needed, and looks inconspicuous yet nice to boot!

I can’t imagine this is the end of the story for this sweater, either. I was just thinking as I was walking to work how lovely a little embroidery around the cuffs and bottom would be. It is also so perfect a shape and fit for me, I want to make additional editions! Pine green? Pewter? Burgundy?

 

4 comments

  1. This is genius: so simple and so appropriate!

    I know what you mean with wanting to make different iterations of the same model when you hit upon something that works. I’ll be making a second version of my lacy plum cardigan and I suspect the one that has just been cast off may see a twin too, judging from how comfy it was and well it fitted whilst I was making it. I suppose my aim with the knitting and sewing is the same: I really want to master a handful of patterns that really work for my body well so they form the backbone of my wardrobe and then I used the remaining time and skills for occasional flourishes to keep the whole thing looking fresh rather than frumpy. That’s my take on a capsule wardrobe…

    1. I completely agree. Especially with knitting sweaters and sewing garments, where so much can go haywire! I have my perfect blouse for sewing (scout tee) — and I hope to have my perfect dress soon. This is my perfect cardigan 🙂

Leave a Reply

