Rose Hip Seed Oil

Rose Hip Seed! It sounds like it could be one of the fairies in A Midsummer Night’s Dream! I’m pretty sure that’s Rose Hip Seed second in from the right 😉

During the holidays, I bought a gift for someone from a Fancy Toiletry Purveyor and I got a free sample of a “dry” blend of oils. It was pretty nice — I loved the way the oils immediately sunk into my skin and did not feel greasy. Further research revealed that the blend had a few what I deem unnecessary ingredients (butylphenyl methylpropional, benzyl salicylate, and dicaprylyl ether, anyone? nah, didn’t think so) plus had a retail price that seemed pretty high (1.6 oz = $29 USD). I started looking at other dry oils, and found out about rose hip seed oil. It’s full of essential fatty acids and great for hair, skin, and nails (I love a multi-tasker!) yet soaks in immediately. It’s also pretty reasonable — $22 for 8 oz at Mountain Rose Herbs, i.e.  the finest quality). I find it great for the winter because on my skin, it seems more emollient than argan oil. Argan is perfect for me 9 months out of the year, but this winter my poor face was getting a bit flaky from our sub-freezing temperatures paired with dry winter heat.

I put a few drops of Rose Geranium essential oil (otherwise known as the “poor man’s rose”) and Chamomile essential oil in my bottle, both to enhance the hair/skin/nail care and for the delightful fragrance, and feel pampered and moisturized. I’ve also taken to putting it on my hands before bed, and slathering it on everywhere after a bath. So nice! I’ve read that rose hip seed evens skin tone, and I swear my skin looks more even. I’m not one to believe cosmetic industry hype, so this means something 🙂

I’m so happy to have another tool in my simple and natural toiletry box! No coupons, as it’s a single ingredient item.

image: The Fairies’ Banquet, by John Anster Fitzgerald, 1859

2 comments

  1. Rose hip oil… It’s on my list for next winter. I currently have apricot kernel oil – my go-to every day oil and castor oil, which apparently is really good heated to treat inflamed muscles. I’m not wholly convinced but until I have depleted the tiny bottle I can’t justify getting rose hip oil, which apparently is also reputedly good for ‘maturing’ skin… 😉

    1. Oh Meg, why don’t we live around the corner from each other! I could give you some rose hip seed oil and you can give me some apricot oil and we could have some tea and savory biscotti 🙂

Leave a Reply

