“Turn of the lights so we can see…”

Here is a family who spends time all over the past — right now they are in 1935. I love reading about their experiments for so many reasons, but this post resonated for me especially because Meg and I were conversing in the comments of my last post about not wanting to create the past for the sake of the past. This family gives some very compelling reasons why going back is fruitful and enriching. When I read these words I recognized the feeling written about so well. Yes, exactly. Thank you for articulating this so well.

Healing Tree Farm

Our first week in 1935 was less terrifying than I anticipated. And much of that is due to some of the conveniences we stillphoto 4 (3) have (like access to a hot shower at the end of the day and running water in general). However, even with these conveniences we have a taste of the hard work and muscle required to get through a day in rural America 1935-style.

I’ve kept a journal all week, noting the subtle and not-so-subtle differences between the now and the then-now. The first thing to stand out was how often we turn to electricity for everything from the microwave (not released until October of 1955) to the waking hour, when I use to my cell phone to light my footpath to the kitchen.

photo 5 (1)I’m also amazed how how much less water you use in 1935, and how much more I appreciate something so simple as a drain, for getting rid…

View original post 413 more words

One comment

  1. Thanks for flagging this up. I think the title captures so much. I certainly feel as if I could use a few electricity free/oil lamp evenings to catch up with lots of mundane maintenance jobs, like sanding down my seed labels, carrying out a seed inventory and catching up on real correspondence. Being permanently lit up and wired means jobs equated with ‘greater productivity’ get prioritised over simple housekeeping tasks.

Leave a Reply

