Pretty Sneaky

Mono Print

Last week, I hurt my foot. I was wearing flippy backless wedge sandals, and on my walk home from the train, the back of my foot slid to the side, my ankle buckled, and owwwwwwwww! I had a nice swollen foot, was out of work for two days, and in pain. The worst part is that I should have known better.

Ever since the weather got warmer and I switched to my three pairs of beat up, unsupportive, not anything close to a walking shoe sandals I’ve been experiencing hurty feet, stumbling, and if I had a dollar for every time I said, “I’m going to hurt myself with these shoes!” as I tripped I would have had the money for a new pair of shoes in two weeks!

Measures had to be taken. I put one pair of sandals by the door so I can wear them to do stuff on the porch, and as much as it pained me, I threw two pairs of them away. The soles had no life in them, stitching was coming off, and they were a falling hazard! I also took a look at the only pair of sneakers I owned so I could wear something comfortable as my ankle healed. They were not going to fit the bill: I got them in 2008, there were holes on the side of one, and the soles were extremely worn down. I did save them in case I needed to do something messy like paint a room, but I certainly couldn’t wear them to work. Oh dear, I had to be practical and buy a pair of sneakers.

RbkPrincessBlk2

These are what I got. I picked them because I remember that when my then-boyfriend and now-husband and I moved in with each other (in 1991!) I had a long walk to work. He bought me a pair as a gift so that I could walk to work and back from our new apartment — how sweet! They wound up being very study, extremely comfortable, and didn’t look half bad with my outfits 😉 I was pleased to see that they are still available and still as comfortable and supportive as they were over 20 (!) years ago. I’ve been wearing them this past week and gosh do my feet feel better. My ankle is healing, I’m not tripping, and there is a spring in my step and a song in my heart!

It took me getting injured to spend these 5 points, but I’m glad I did. I’m probably going to have to spend another 5 points on new (supportive, with ankle straps thankyouverymuch) sandals, too. Thank god I didn’t spend 12 points on socks the other week is all I can say!

One comment

Leave a Reply

